top of page


It is from birth to five years that much of a child's development and intelligence occurs, the rational and emotional levels, which determine their ability to learn. Based on this important aspect, Tabernacle School offers different and playful methods to stimulate a child's growth. This is a vital stage in their development, so we integrate cognitive and social activities to guide them in decision making and developing their social skills. 



We provide children with choices to help them develop these important life skills. We believe children should be allowed to take risks, but need to be taught how to recognise and avoid hazards.


One of the striking stages in a child's life is beginning school. Tabernacle School aims to make this the most enjoyable experience possible, so that the child can feel safe and confident in their new environment - the school.

Research shows that learning through play is an excellent bridge that helps children meet their developmental milestones.



In the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) of our Pre-school, the children join us from the age of three years to the end of the reception year when they become five years. They then move onto Year 1.


We meet the needs of all our children at Tabernacle School through:

  • Planning opportunities that build upon and extend children’s knowledge, experience and interests, and develop their self-esteem and confidence;

  • Using a wide range of teaching strategies based on children’s learning needs;

  • Providing a wide range of opportunities to motivate and support children and to help them to learn effectively;

  • Providing a safe and supportive learning environment in which the contribution of all children is valued;

  • Using resources which reflect diversity and are free from discrimination and stereotyping;

  • Planning challenging activities for children whose ability and understanding are in advance of their language and communication skills;

  • Monitoring children’s progress and taking action to provide support as necessary.


Tabernacle’s  planning also gives children plenty of opportunities to:

  • Establish what they all ready know and work on it;

  • Gain confidence to build and succeed;

  • Be independent throughout their learning;

  • Be encouraged to work individually and as a group;

  • Learn to build on their own characteristics and personalities;

  • Be the best they can be.



The EYFS framework is broad and balanced and provides progression to the wholeness and all round development of the child which is kept at the forefront of all curriculum planning. Children within the Foundation Stage experience seven areas of learning and development:

Prime Areas of Learning

Communication and Language (CL) development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development (PD) involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development (PSED) involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


Specific Areas of Learning

Literacy (LIT) involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics (MATHS) involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world (UtW) involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design (EAD) involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

bottom of page